Society Awards – March 2017

March 30, 2017

ASCE presents nearly 100 Society awards every year, recognizing civil engineers who advance the profession either through achievement or published papers.

The most recent Society awards are:

• Jeffrey B. Bradley, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE – 2017 Arid Lands Hydraulic Engineering Award

• Howard P. Thomas, P.E., P.Eng., F.ASCE – 2017 Can-Am Civil Engineering Amity Award

• Vladimir Nikora, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE – 2017 Hans Albert Einstein Award

• Xinzhong Chen, Ph.D., M.ASCE – 2017 Jack E. Cermak Medal

• Soroosh Sorooshian, Ph.D., M.ASCE – 2017 Ven Te Chow Award

• Yong G. Lai, Jianchun Victor Huang, and Kuowei Wu – 2017 Karl Emil Hilgard Hydraulic Prize

• Wenming Zhang, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; David Z. Zhu, M.ASCE; Nallamuthu Rajaratnam, P.E., F.ASCE; Stephen Edwini-Bonsu, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE; Jan Fiala; and Wayne Pelz – 2017 Samuel Arnold Greeley Award

• W. H. Huang and C. M. Kao, Ph.D., F.ASCE – 2017 Rudolph Hering Medal

• R. Rhodes Trussell, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE, NAE, M.ASCE – 2018 Simon W. Freese Environmental Engineering Award and Lecture

• W. Samuel Easterling, Ph.D., P.E., F.SEI, F.ASCE – 2017 Shortridge Hardesty Award

• John W. van de Lindt, Ph.D., F.ASCE – 2017 Ernest E. Howard Award

• Fotis Sotiropoulos, Ph.D., M.ASCE – 2017 Hunter Rouse Hydraulic Engineering Award

• Rollin H. Hotchkiss, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE – 2017 Hydraulic Structures Medal

• Daniel P. Sheer, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE – 2017 Julian Hinds Award

• Karen C. Kabbes, P.E., D.WRE, ENV SP, F.ASCE – 2017 Margaret S. Petersen Award

• Daniel M. Dowden; Patricia Clayton, A.M.ASCE; Chao-Hsien Li; Jeffrey Berman, A.M.ASCE; Michael Bruneau, Ph.D., P.Eng., P.E., F.ASCE; Laura N. Lowes, A.M.ASCE; and Keh-Chyuan Tsai – 2017 Moisseiff Award

• Yongchao Yang, A.M.ASCE; Shunlong Li, Aff.M.ASCE; Satish Nagarajaiah, Ph.D., F.SEI, M.ASCE; Hui Li, Aff.M.ASCE; and Peng Zhou – 2017 Raymond C. Reese Research Prize

• Robert D. von Bernuth, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE – 2017 Royce J. Tipton Award

• S. Sujitha; K. Geetha Manjari; Sampurna Datta, S.M.ASCE; and G. L. Sivakumar Babu, Ph.D., F.ASCE – 2017 Wesley W. Horner Award

ASCE accepts nominations throughout the year for various awards and honors. Learn more about each award and submit a nomination, or email

Tagged as:
Leave a Reply

— required *

— required *