Malekpour and Karney to Receive the J.C. Stevens Award

January 27, 2015

Ahmad Malekpour, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE and Bryan W. Karney, P.E., M.ASCE, are the recipients of the J.C. Stevens Award for their discussion of “Pressure surges following sudden air pocket entrapment in storm-water tunnels,”  which was published in the April 2014 issue of ASCE’s Journal of Hydraulic Engineering.

The J. C. Stevens Award recognizes excellence in a paper published by the Society.  The paper is in the field of hydraulics, including fluid mechanics and hydrology.

The discussion is done in a professional manner, and is based on technical merit. Recognizing the strengths of the original paper by Jose G. Vasconcelos, A.M.ASCE and Gabriel M. Leite, the discussion highlights the importance of flow separation and jet formation in areas constricted by air pockets. The authors systematically present their arguments and provide a unique way of understanding the pros and cons of the study.

Tagged as:
Leave a Reply

— required *

— required *