Hotchkiss Earns Hydraulic Structures Medal

March 29, 2017


ASCE has honored Rollin H. Hotchkiss, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE, with the 2017 Hydraulic Structures Medal for his numerous achievements and contributions to the hydraulic structures engineering profession in the areas of culverts hydraulics, low-head dam operations, and reservoir sedimentation throughout a most distinguished, dedicated research career.

Hotchkiss’ research and investigative contributions have been most noteworthy in the areas of culverts and culvert hydraulics, low-head dam operations, and reservoir sedimentation. His most significant efforts have focused on studying turbulence in corrugated metal culverts, hydraulic impacts of fish passage through culverts, enhancements of predicting sediment transport in the vicinity of culverts, and improvements in the analysis of broken-back culverts. He co-authored HEC-26, Federal Design Guidelines for Culvert Design for Aquatic Organism Passage and the revision of HY-8 pertaining to hydraulic jumps and broken-back culverts. In addition, he developed the Broken Back Culvert Analysis Program (BCAP) that is widely utilized throughout the federal and state highway systems, as well as by consultants active in highway design and/or rehabilitation. BCAP is now incorporated into HY-8.

He has performed studies to reduce the impact of hydraulic rollers at low-head dams and participated on an advisory team proposing a nationwide permit for the removal of low-head dams and an accounting for the system impacts resulting from dam removal. Furthermore, he has been an energetic, proactive leader in the area of reservoir sedimentation management. His works in sustainable sediment management in reservoirs, stability and bifurcation analysis of reservoir sedimentation management, and hydrosuction sediment removal systems are indicative of his concerted efforts of the past two and one-half decades.

Hotchkiss has worked as an educator since 1989, holding professorial positions at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln, Washington State University, and Brigham Young Univeristy.

The Hydraulic Structures Medal is awarded to an individual or individuals for significant contributions to the advancement of the art and science of hydraulic engineering as applied to hydraulic structures.

Tagged as:
Leave a Reply

— required *

— required *