ASCE’s 2016 OPAL Award Recipients Span Engineering Excellence

December 2, 2015

ASCE’s Outstanding Projects and Leaders awards have been civil engineering’s preeminent lifetime achievement honor since their establishment in 1999.

The 2016 class of OPAL winners includes a groundbreaking life-cycle engineer, a retired major general who managed U.S. Air Force facilities engineering, a preeminent designer and developer of landfills, a man accomplished as both a lawyer and engineer, and the third-generation leader of a national heavy civil construction firm.

The OPAL awards recognize outstanding civil engineering leaders whose significant accomplishments across their careers have contributed to construction, design, education, government, or management. Here are this year’s honorees.

Rudolph Bonaparte, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE, F.ASCE, NAE, for design
Jerry A. DiMaggio, P.E., D.GE, M.ASCE, for government
Dan M. Frangopol, Ph.D., P.E., F.EMI, Dist.M.ASCE, F.SEI, for education
George J. Pierson, Esq., P.E., M.ASCE, for management
Christopher S. Traylor, P.E., M.ASCE, for construction

Each recipient will receive his honors at ASCE’s 2016 OPAL Gala, March 17, in Arlington, VA.

Leave a Reply

— required *

— required *