2016 ASCE Election Results: Mattei Next President-Elect

June 3, 2015

ASCE’s 2016 president-elect elect is Norma Jean Mattei, Ph.D., P.E., F.SEI, M.COPRI, M.ASCE, chosen by a majority of Society members in a month-long officers election that concluded June 1. Mattei will be inducted at the ASCE Annual Business Meeting in October and will become president of the 163-year-old professional association in October 2016, the third woman to serve in the prestigious office.

Mattei has served ASCE for more than 20 years in local, regional, and national leadership positions. President Obama named her one of three civilian members of the Mississippi River Commission in 2012. A lifelong resident of New Orleans, Mattei is a professor in the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering at the University of New Orleans. Her technical research interests include large watershed management, material and structural testing, sustainable reuse of spent construction/fabrication materials, and residual stress measurement. She is also interested in diversity, licensure, and ethics issues. Read her biographical outline and vision statement.

Mattei outlined her thoughts about serving as ASCE’s president in this brief video recently recorded as a nominee.

New officers in each of the following ASCE Regions were elected to three-year terms. To see complete election results, read the Tellers Report. To learn more about each newly elected officer, click on each to read more:

Region Directors-Elect


Region 3:  George A. Ghareeb, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 4:  Charles W. Black, Jr., P.E., M.ASCE

Region 8:  Dale A. Nelson, P.E., F.ASCE

Technical Region:  Jean-Louis Briaud, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE, Dist.M.ASCE

gion Governors-Elect

Region 1:    Anthony L. Cioffi, P.E., M.ASCE
                      Erin K. McCormick, EIT, A.M.ASCE

Region 3:    Carl C. Sutter, P.E., C.C.S., M.ASCE

Region 4:    Jaysson E. Funkhouser, P.E., M.ASCE
                      Jonathan D. Keeling, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 5:    Steven M. Goldstein, P.E., F.ASCE
                      William L. Pratt IV, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 6:    David F. J. Calabuig, Sr., P.E., M.ASCE
                      Jerry B. Paz, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 7:    Aaron M. Frits, P.E., ENV SP, M.ASCE
                      Jeffrey A. Young, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 8:    Donald G. Kinney, P.E., M.ASCE
                      Robert L. Lamoreaux, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 9:    James T. Frost, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 10:  Ronald Hine, C.Eng, Ing., M.ASCE
                       April J. Lander, A.M.ASCE
                       Jairo Uribe-Escamilla, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE

  • Congratulations to Norma Jean. I know that she will do a great job.

  • Avatar Dr.(Eng.) David Stower

    Congrats! Prof. Mattei, I am sure she will do a good job.

  • Avatar Engr Olusegun AFOLABI

    Hearthy Congratulations to All,
    Good luck and best of tenure as ASCE leaders.

  • Avatar Elmer Peralta Macasaquit

    Congratulations to our newly elected President and more power to ASCE!

  • Avatar Aswald Brainard

    Congratulation Mattei

  • Avatar Engr. Blessing Tega Oboh

    Congratulations to you Norma Jean Mattei as the 2016 President-elect. I also congratulate all Region Directors-elect and all Region Governors-elect. I wish you all a successful tenure in office as you move our great society forward.

    Engr. Blessing Tega Oboh

  • Avatar Madhusudan Joshi


    Madhu Joshi

  • Avatar Adesina Adekoyejo Osinloye, M,ASCE; MNSE; C.Eng.MICE;

    i wish to congratulate Jean Mattell and other regional directors and governors on their election victory. wishing all successful tenure ahead. i am still awaiting the hard copy of my ASCE membership certificate. once again CONGRATS!

Leave a Reply

— required *

— required *